UP, Delhi, Haryana wins matches in North Zone Blind Cricket Tourney 


Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Haryana won their matches on Monday in the North Zone Blind Cricket Tournament held for the first time in Uttarakhand. Seven out of eight teams of the blind cricketers are participating in the tournament. In the first match Delhi beat Punjab with the help of terrific batting line. Delhi scored 461 runs in 40 overs with the loss of 2 wickets. Bal Mukund scored 254 runs and was not out.

The matches were played at three venues – Maharana Pratap Sports Stadium, Tula’s college and Tanush cricket academy. Delhi and Punjab played at Maharana Pratap stadium. In the second match played between Jammu & Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh, J&K won the toss and decided to bat first. The team scored 254 runs on the loss of 7 wickets in 40 overs. In its turn, UP scored 256 runs in 22.5 overs and after losing 5 wickets. Sayyad Gazi of UP was declared man of the match who scored 65 runs and also took 1 wicket. In the third match played between Haryana and Chandigarh, Chandigarh won the toss and decided to bat first. The team scored 187 runs in 22.1 runs. In reply Haryana easily won the match by 4 wickets.

Shailendra Yadav, general secretary, NZBCT said the players are a mix of three types based on their vision – B1 (total blind), B2 (who can see upto 3 meters) and B3 (who can see upto 6 meters). UP, Uttarakhand, Delhi, Haryana, J&K, Chandigarh and Punjab are playing in the tournament. Himanchal Pradesh was scheduled to play with Uttarakhand but as the Himanchal did not turn. The teams will continue to play on Tuesday and Wednesday and the finals will be held on Thursday.

Earlier secretary (sports) HS Chug and commanding officer of Eco Task Force Col HSK Rana inaugurated the tournament at Maharana Sports Stadium. Uttarakhand Science Education and Research Centre (USERC) and Eco Task Force have extended support to the tournament. Durgesh Pant of USERC said that the idea of organizing tournament in Dehradun is to empower visually challenged individuals.

Yadav meanwhile added that players selected from the tournament will be selected for the world cup.


Check Also


India clinch T20 series against Sri Lanka

India defeated Sri Lanka by 78 runs in the third and final T20 International to ...