State to have four more districts shortly


Uttarakhand, which is currently having 13 district, may have 17 districts becasue state government may give shape to the proposal of carving out four new districts shortly.

Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat has given enough hint during the Assembly session at Bharadisain. CM said the government would take an appropriate decision based on the recommendations of the Districts Reorganisation Commission. “A corpus of Rs 1,000 crore was set up by our government for this purpose soon after it came to power last year. We will follow the recommendations given by the commission in this regard,” he said.

In 2011, the issue of carving out four new districts of Kotdwar (Pauri Garhwal), Yamunotri (Uttarkashi), Raniketh (Almora) and Didihaat (Pithoragarh) was taken up by the then BJP government led by Ramesh Pokhriyal. He had made an announcement in this regard on the Independence Day. Before issuing government notification, Pokhriyal was replaced by Maj Gen Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri as the state Chief Minister on September 11, 2011.

The Gen Khanduri government had issued an order for the creation of new districts on December 8, 2011. However, the matter was delayed again in the wake of the Assembly elections.

In 2012, the Vijay Bahuguna-led Congress government came to power, had pushed the issue on the back burner. However, they had assigned the task of identifying new districts, tehsils and administrative units to a newly constituted re-organisation commission under the revenue board.

In February 2014, Harish Rawat led state government had talked about creating of eight new districts in place of four. As we know that the General Election slated for 2019, the BJP led state government is again showing interest in the issue.


Check Also


Tremors felt in Chamoli

After therain havoc, people of Chamoli are now in fear of earthquake. Tremors were felt ...