4th World Cup victory for the U-19 team

The boys in blue were a class apart from the rest of the competition throughout the tournament bowling out every opposition they faced and winning by huge margins.

Batting first in the final, Jonathan Merlo made a solid 76 before the India’s left-arm spin duo of Shiva Singh and Anukul Roy sprung pulled back the opposition to bowl them out for 216.

Aussies were cruising at 183 for four before the Indian spinners engineered the collapse with Jason Sangha-led side losing its last six wickets for 33 runs. Ishan Porel, Shiva Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Anukul Roy all took two wickets each while pacer Shivam Mavi scalped a single wicket.

In reply, openers Shaw and Manjot Kalra gave India a solid start before the skipper departed for 29 in the 12th over with India on 71. Kalra was then joined by India’s highest run-getter in the tournament, Shubman Gill who was also adjudged man of the series . The pair added 60 runs for the second wicket. Gill was dismissed on 31 by off-spinner Param Uppal.

Desai, who was dropped on 40 by Uppal, finally finished the game off with a boundary in the 39th over to give India the victory. This was also the first time Rahul Dravid lifted a World Cup.


Check Also


India clinch T20 series against Sri Lanka

India defeated Sri Lanka by 78 runs in the third and final T20 International to ...