All preperation for counting in place: DEO Raman


The stage is set for the counting of votes of all the 10 constituencies of Dehradun district to be held at Maharana Pratap Sports College, Raipur on Saturday. The counting of votes will start with the counting of postal ballots from 8 am while counting of polled EVMs will start from 8.30 am at the venue, informed the  district magistrate and district election officer Ravinath Raman while interacting with the media persons on Friday.

Counting of polled EVMs will be done under the surveillance of CCTV cameras and the counting process would be duly recorded, he said, adding that 21 CCTV cameras have been installed at the counting venue for the purpose. The model code of conduct being in force in the district till March 15 and section 144 of CrPC has been enforced in the district from March 11 at 6 am to March 13 midnight. No rally or sloganeering would be allowed around the venue during the time of the counting, he added.

Raman further said that to ensure peaceful counting on Saturday, representatives of political parties have been asked to send their agents at the counting venue with valid entry gate passes by 6 am on Saturday. They would not be allowed to carry electronic materials and other explosive materials at the venue. Separate entry gates for the pass holders have been made for the Vidhan Sabha- wise counters.

14 tables have installed for each constituency and a total of 140 tables have been installed for all the 10 constituencies in the district. The counting is expected to be completed in each constituency in around 11 rounds. The candidates on being declared elected would be given the victory certificates after the counting of votes is over, Raman said.

Around 750 government officials have been deputed on counting duty and they include the counting micro observer, counting observer and counting assistant. All of them have been directed to reach the venue at 6 am so that counting of votes could be started at 8 am. In order to ensure peaceful counting of votes, 800 police forces have been deployed at and around the venue. The randomisation of staff on vote counting duty was also conducted on Friday in the presence of Raman and the general observer Manish Kumar Gupta.


Check Also

Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami

Revenue Milestone: Uttarakhand Mining department earns ₹645.42 Crore

The Uttarakhand Mining Department has achieved a remarkable feat in the financial year 2023-24 by ...