polling team left for remote areas of Karnprayag


Two days left for the polling for Karnprayag constituency in Chamoli district 13 polling teams, including the presiding officers and the polling officers, left for their assigned polling centres spread over the far- flung areas of the constituency on Tuesday. The remaining 156 teams would depart on Wednesday,   said Chamoli district election officer Vinod Kumar Suman on Tuesday. A total of 91, 849 voters will vote in the election for the lone seat that is yet to elect its representative, he added.

Karnaprayag is a high- profile constituency from where the state’s deputy speaker Anusuya Prasad Maikhuri is in the fray.

Suman said that the government employees deputed as polling officers and presiding officers had undergone medical checkups before they left.  The eye check- ups of the vehicle drivers were also conducted before they left, he added. The polling centres at Sakand and Pyunra are situated some distance away from the nearest road-heads.  “This means that the polling officials will have to trek several kilometeres to reach the polling centres there,” he said. While 57 voters would vote at Sakand 249 voters at Pyunra,  he said.

Suman  further said that the polling teams meant to conduct polls   at Baratoli, Majkhola, Dhanpur, Sakand, Aand, Dungri, Baron, Serapankhudi, Pajyana Malla, Pyunra, Mailana, Kaveelakh and Aandrapa had left on Tuesday.

A total of 169 polling booths have been made to conduct the election while 28 polling centres have been identified as critical and eight as vulnerable.  Besides, 19 polling centres have been demarcated as shadow areas where there is no mobile connectively. Communication would be maintained through wireless sets at these polling centres.

At 36 polling centres, the number of voters is less than 300 while it is anything between 300 and 800 are at 105 polling centres. At 28 polling centres, the numbers of voters vary from 800 to 1200.

A total of 1331 persons- 689 male and 642 female voters- would vote at Gairsain polling centre. Meanwhile, police are gearing up to ensure peaceful polling for the seat.  Chamoli SP Priti Priyadarshani said that the election area has been divided into five zones and 28 sectors. For peaceful election, three gazetted officers, one inspector, 58 sub-inspectors, 70 head-constables, 289 constables, 41 forest officials, 464 home guards, 135 PRD jawans and two company and one and half section PAC and three company and two platoon of ITBP have been deployed at  the polling centres and some other places, she added.


Check Also

Joshimath becomes jyotirmath

Joshimath Tehsil Renamed Jyotirmath, CM Dhami proposal approves by Union Govt

Joshimath tehsil in Chamoli district has officially been renamed Jyotirmath, restoring its ancient name. Uttarakhand’s ...