Cong won three seats each from 3 out of 5 LS seat of UK

The Bharatiya Janata Party has won 56 Assembly seats out of 69 seats performing very well in the state but a question mark has also been raised over the performance of the BJP MPs because all five Lok Sabha seats have been represented by the BJP since 2014. Before assembly election BJP national president Amit Shah had categorically asked the party MPs that he will assess seniority of the leader after the election, asking them to  help win more and more number of assembly seats in their Lok Sabha constituencies. Interestingly outgoing chief minister Harish Rawat, who had contested election from two constituencies — Haridwar Rural in Haridwar Lok Sabha constituency and Kichha assembly constituency in the Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar Lok Sabha seat, had to taste defeat from both seats. Coincidentally both seats fall in constituencies represented by two ex chief ministers Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and Bhagat Singh Koshyari.


It would be pertinent to mention here that Uttarakhand has 70 assembly seat and five lok Sabha seats so each Lok Sabha constituency spreads in 14 assembly seats of the state. Thirteen seats out of 69 whose result was declared have been won by Congress and independent candidates –Ram Singh Kaida from Bhimtal in Nainital district and Preetam Singh Panwar from Dhanaulti in Tehri district.


If one goes deeper to the seat-wise analysis then all five Lok Sabha seats are being represented by three ex CMs — Bhagat Singh Koshyari, Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri and Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank from Nainita-Udam Singh Nagar, Garhwal and Haridwar respectively while two seats – Almora-Pithoragarh and Tehri seat being represented by Union minister of state Ajay Tamta and Mala Rajya Lakshmi Shah.

In the Garhwal Lok Sabha seats spread in five districts — Pauri, Chamoli, Rudraprayag and two seats of Tehri district and one seat of Nainital district. BJP has won 13 out of 14 seats and Kedarnath in Rudraprayag district was won by the Congress candidate Manoj Rawat.

In Haridwar Lok Sabha constituency the Congress won three seats — Bhagwanpur, Piran Kaliyar and Manglaur through its candidates Mamta Rakesh, Furkan Ahmed and Qazi Nizamuddin respectively. This means that the BJP won 11 seats out of 14 seats of Haridwar Lok Sabha constituency.

In Almora-Pithoragarh Lok Sabha constituency, Congress has won three seats — Harish Dhami from Dharchula, Karan Mahra from Ranikhet and Govind Singh Kunjwal from Jageshwar. It means BJP won 10 out 13 declared seats with Lohaghat seat result not being declared due to malfunction of electronic voting machine. The Lok Sabha seat is being represented by union minister Ajay Tamta.

In Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar Lok Sabha constituency Congress has won two seats with Aadesh Singh Chouhan from Jaspur and Indira Hridayesh from Haldwani while independent candidate Ram Singh Kaida won from Bhimtal. Remaining 11 seats including eight seats of Udham Singh Nagar district and three seats of Nainital.

In the Tehri Lok Sabha constituency, sitting cabinet minister Preetam Singh Panwar has won from Dhanaulti as an independent candidate and remaining 13 seats include Gangotri, which has myth around it that whichever party wins the seat forms the government. In this scenario the Garhwal and Tehri MPs are running ahead.


Check Also


PM Modi attends 150th anniversary celebration of Kolkata Port Trust in Kolkata

Prime Minister Narendra Modi attended the 150th anniversary celebration of Kolkata Port Trust in Kolkata ...