Election Commission of India

Tough battle awaits for BJP candidates in Garhwal division

In the electoral landscape of Uttarakhand’s Garhwal Division, BJP candidates are encountering formidable opposition as they vie for victory in three crucial Lok Sabha seats: Garhwal, Tehri, and Haridwar.

A notable contrast from the past is the reduced presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the region’s electoral campaign. While he extensively addressed rallies in all five Lok Sabha seats of Uttarakhand during the 2014 general elections, this time around, he only held rallies in Garhwal (Rishikesh and Kumaon divisions (Rudrapur).

In Garhwal Lok Sabha constituency, the BJP has fielded former MP Anil Baluni, while the Congress has nominated former MLA Ganesh Godiyal. Adding intrigue to the race, Bandrinath MLA Rajendra Bhandari switched allegiance from Congress to BJP. Despite this, Ganesh Godiyal of the Congress has managed to forge strong connections with the electorate, outstripping the BJP’s outreach efforts.

Similarly, in the Haridwar Lok Sabha seat, the BJP has positioned former CM Trivendra Singh Rawat against Congress’ choice, Birendra Rawat, the son of ex-CM Harish Rawat. Independent MLA Umesh Kumar from Khanpur has also entered the fray, initially setting up a triangular contest that later narrowed down to a head-to-head battle between BJP and Congress.

In Tehri Lok Sabha constituency, the BJP has opted to field incumbent MP Mala Rajya Lakshmi Shah. However, she faces stiff competition from Independent candidate Bobby Panwar, particularly from the Jaunsar region. There’s a prevalent belief that Jaunsar natives staunchly support candidates from their own community, potentially posing a significant challenge for the BJP. The outcome of the election will hinge on the polling results scheduled for tomorrow, April 19, 2024.


Check Also

Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi Sworn in as Prime Minister for Third Term in Grand Ceremony

Narendra Modi, the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has been sworn in as ...