AAP agenda for opposition alliance

Delhi HC to hear PIL seeking removal of CM Arvind Kejrirwal

The Delhi High Court is set to hear a PIL seeking the removal of Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal from his position as the chief minister of the government of NCT of Delhi on Thursday. The bench comprising Justice Manmohan and Justice Manmeet Pritam Singh Arora will hear the case on Thursday.

A recent plea highlighted that Arvind Kejriwal, the CM of Delhi, was arrested by the Enforcement Directorate on March 21 in connection with a money laundering case related to an alleged liquor policy scam. Before his arrest, the Delhi High Court had also declined to grant interim protection from coercive action to Kejriwal in the same case.

The plea further mentioned that following Kejriwal’s arrest, Minister Atishi, gave interviews to various channels on March 21, affirming that Kejriwal would not resign from his position and, if necessary, would continue to run the government from jail. She was quoted saying, “Arvind Kejriwal was the Delhi CM, is the CM, and will remain the CM; he will not resign.”

Filed by Surjit Singh Yadav through lawyer Shashi Ranjan Kumar Singh, the plea argued that Kejriwal’s continuation as the chief minister of the Government of NCT of Delhi after his arrest by the Enforcement Directorate has tarnished the credibility and image of the Delhi government in the eyes of the public.

The plea expressed concern that Kejriwal’s continued tenure as the Chief Minister of Government of the NCT of Delhi could impede due legal processes, disrupt the course of justice, and potentially lead to a breakdown of the constitutional machinery in the state.

Arvind Kejriwal was arrested by the ED on March 21 in connection with the Delhi Excise Policy case linked to a money laundering case. He was remanded to the ED till March 28. The case revolves around alleged irregularities and money laundering in the framing and implementation of the Delhi excise policy case 2022, which was later scrapped.


Check Also

Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi Sworn in as Prime Minister for Third Term in Grand Ceremony

Narendra Modi, the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has been sworn in as ...