BJP may win two out of four states


Madhya Pradesh may be heading for a hung assembly, with five of seven exit polls predicting that both the BJP and the Congress will fall short of majority.

According to an aggregate of seven exit polls, the BJP will get 112 seats in the state — short of the halfway mark of 115 in the 230 member assembly; the Congress will get 107 seats. Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party will get 2 seats.

In Chhattisgarh too, the BJP might have cause to worry, if the exit polls are to be believed. The BJP, led by Chief Minister Raman Singh, will get 40 of the state’s 90 seats, while the Congress will win 43. The Ajit Jogi-Mayawati alliance will get 5 seats, the aggregate of seven exit polls shows. The majority mark in the assembly lies at 46

Rajasthan, which has not voted for the same party for two consecutive terms in the last 20 years, will this time pick the Congress, continuing the trend, according to the poll of exit polls. In the 200-member assembly, the BJP will win 74 and the Congress 117, an aggregate of two exit polls have predicted. Mayawati’s BSP will win one seat

In Telangana, India’s youngest state, which voted for the second time today, exit polls show Telangana Rashtra Samithi chief K Chandrashekar Rao’s gamble of dissolving the state assembly eight months before schedule delivering a wafer-thin majority. The TRS will get 62 of the state’s 119 assembly seats, where the majority mark is at 61. The Congress-Chandrababu Naidu combine will get 41 seats and the BJP six seats, an aggregate of two exit polls have predicted.

Mizoram, one of the four states where the Congress is still in power, will vote out the Congress, predicts exit polls in the state. The exit polls conducted by Republic-C Voter shows the Congress getting only 18 seats in the 40-member assembly. The MNF, it predicts, will get 20 seats, but fail to cross the halfway mark. The BJP, the exit polls predict, will have to wait longer to open its account in the state and ruling the entire northeast.

The exit polls came in as polling ended in Rajasthan and Telangana at 5 pm. Chhattisgarh voted in two phases on November 12 and November 20, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram voted on November 28.

Telangana witnessed a three-cornered battle with the TRS taking on the BJP and a grand alliance led by the Congress and Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party. While KCR’s party won 63 seats last time against the 21 seats of Congress and 15 of Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, data from the last election shows a 2 per cent vote swing may change the outcome of the election. Rao had a good equation with Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, which won seven seats in the last election. ndtv


Check Also


Kiran Bedi shares video on “Sun chants Om”, gets trolled

Lt Governor of Puducherry Kiran Bedi was trolled on Twitter on Saturday for posting a ...