BJP wins 5 out of 7 mayor


The BJP has won five of the seven mayoral seats and 34 of the 84 chairman and president posts in the Uttarakhand civic elections, while Independents sprang a surprise by grabbing 23 posts.

The Congress won 25 of the chairman and president posts in the state’s civic bodies and the BSP won one post, according to information released by the State Election Commission here on Wednesday.

Results for one post were yet to be declared, it said.  The civic body poll was a high-stake battle for the ruling BJP that was looking to match its own impressive showing in the Uttarakhand elections last year when it had won 57 out of 70 Assembly seats.

It was also significant for the Congress that has been struggling to stage a comeback after its defeat in the Assembly elections.

The BJP won five of the seven mayoral seats — Dehradun, Rishikesh, Kashipur, Rudrapur and Haldwani — while the Congress won Haridwar and Kotdwar, the commission said.


Check Also


Defense minister attends Passing out parade

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh reviewed the passing out parade of Indian Military Academy (IMA), Dehradun ...