BJP win 5 out of 7 Nagar Nigam Mayor seats in Uttarakhand civic elections 2018

In the elections held for 84 municipal corporations across Uttarakhand, including seven municipal corporations. BJP has occupied 34 posts of body heads, while on 26 the Congress and 23 independents won while BSP won one out of the 83 results declared. In the municipal corporations, the BJP won the post of mayor in Dehradun, Rishikesh, Rudrapur, Kashipur and Haldwani, while Kotdwar’s post went to the Congress.

Nagar Nigam Candidate Party
Dehradun Sunil Uniyal ‘Gama’ BJP
Haldwani Jogendra Rautela BJP
Rishikesh Anita Mamgain BJP
Haridwar Anita Sharma Congress
Kotdwar Hemlata Negi Congress
Kashipur Usha Chaudhary BJP
Rudrapur Rajpal BJP

In the elections of the municipality and municipal council (Nagar Panchayat), the BJP has achieved great success in most bodies while performing well. While independents defeated heavyweights from BJP and Congress in the posts of Ward members. Such was the performance of independent candidates that even if the BJP and Congress’ numbers are combined they still would fall short of the victory tally by independents. Out of the 67 results declared so far, BJP has managed to become president in 27 urban bodies. In the 21 bodies, the independents have won, whereas the Congress has got success in 19 bodies.


Check Also


Cold wave continues in Uttarakhand

After two days of bright sunshine, the weather in Dehradun once again looked to turn ...