18 years after formation; Uttarakhand gets its own Ranji team

After waiting for 18 years, a team of Uttarakhand will  finally get to play Ranji Trophy. In the coming season, the BCCI has decided to set up a nine-member ‘Coordination Committee’ to monitor the debut of domestic cricket in the state.

Following a meeting today, the Administrator’s Committee chairman Vinod Rai said that Uttarakhand will make a debut in the Ranji Trophy.

The nine-member Coordination Committee will consist of six members of the state’s various cricket associations and a nominated member of the Uttarakhand government. Besides, there will be two representatives of the BCCI including retired professor Ratnakar Shetty.

Rai said, “All the opposition unions of Uttarakhand have forgotten mutual differences so that the involvement of the state team in the Ranji Trophy can be ensured. A committee has been formed, which will also be representative of the BCCI. It will work from next week. ‘

CoA member Diana Edulji and BCCI CEO Rahul Johari were also present in the meeting.

The BCCI technical committee has also decided to include Bihar and North-East teams in the upcoming domestic season, which will increase the number of teams in the Ranji Trophy to 36.


Check Also


Cold wave continues in Uttarakhand

After two days of bright sunshine, the weather in Dehradun once again looked to turn ...