CSK win IPL 2018 by defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad in finals

The final match of the IPL 2018 proved to be a one sided affair, with the help of Shane Watson’s unbeaten century (117 runs, 57 balls, 11 fours, eight sixes), Chennai Super Kings defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by a huge gap of 8 wickets. The match was dominated by Chennai Super Kings as they managed to lose only 2 wickets while chasing 179 runs in 18.3 overs. With the victory, Chennai has achieved the distinction of becoming the King of IPL for the third time. In response to the 179 runs given by Sunrisers, Chennai lost the wickets of Faf du Plessis (10) and Suresh Raina (32) only. Ambati Rayudu, with an unbeaten 16, with the help of Watson, brought the team to victory. In the match played at the Wankhede stadium, the Sunrisers batted first on the invitation of Chennai, with captain Kane Williamson’s 47 and Yusuf Pathan’s unbeaten 45, helped them score 178 in 20 overs, losing 6 wickets in 20 overs, but the score proved to be insignificant in front of Watson. As a result of the title win, Chennai Super Kings got prize money of Rs 20 crore, while Sunrise had to satisfy itself with a prize money of Rs 12 crore and 50 lakhs.

CSK’s chase had gotten off to a poor start with South African batsman Faf du Plessis falling in the fourth over with the score on 16. Watson and Raina got together and went about dismantling the SRH bowling in ruthless fashion. The duo strung together a match-winning 117-run stand for the second wicket with SRH bowlers helpess in front of the CSK pair’s onslaught. Watson hit 11 fours and eight sixes during his unbeaten knock but things didn’t start well for him as SRH pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar kept him under wraps for much of the powerplay.


Check Also


India clinch T20 series against Sri Lanka

India defeated Sri Lanka by 78 runs in the third and final T20 International to ...