CS reviews preparation for PM’s visit


Uttarakhand Chief Secretary Utpal kumar Singh reviewed the preparations for holding the national function of the ‘International Yoga Day’, here today. He said that for creating awareness about yoga, “ Run for Yoga” will be organized in the month of June.

Presiding the meeting at Secretariat on Tuesday, he formed various organizing committees for the event. An apex committee under Chief Secretary, law and order committee under ADG ( Law and Order ), Coordination Committee headed by Secretary, Ayush, Yoga committee under Vice-Chancellor of Ayurveda University, Organising Site committee under District Magistrate, Dehradun, Transport committee under Secretary, Transport,    Media committee under Information, Secretary, Cleanliness committee under City Commissioner were formed. Besides all the concerned departments will nominate a nodal officer each. The online registration and passes will be looked after by ITDA. He instructed that trainees should be trained by able Yoga gurus. A control room has been establish to monitor the day to day progress of the preparations.

 It has to be mentioned that in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi a collective demonstration of Yoga will be done in Dehradun. The campus of Forest Research Institute (FRI) has been proposed to hold the event.  The government has chosen to hold national function of International yoga Day ( June 21) at Dehradun. A total of 60,000 participants will hold collective yoga show on June 21. Before the final show to be held between 7 am to 7.45 am, rehearsal will be done on  June 18 and a full rehearsal will be on June 19. The members of Uttarakhand police, Army, para-military forces, NCC, NSS, Scouts and Guides, Yoga institutes, school, colleges, women and senior citizens organisations, youth clubs and Nehri Yuva Kendra, ASHA, ANM workers and other people will participate in the show. Yoga institutes will give training to the participants. Apart from national event in Uttarakhand, similar collective yoga display events will be organized in all the state capitals, districts, blocks and gram pachayats in the country.

Anil Raturi, DGP, Additional Chief Secretary Radha Raturi, Principal Secretary Anand Vardhan, Secretary Dr Bhupiender Kaur Aulakh, RK Sudhanshu, D. Senthil Pandian,  Nitesh Jha, Harbans Singh Chugh, Dr. Pakaj Kumar Pandey, Dilip Jawalkar, District Magistrate and SSP, Dehradun along with other officials were present in the meeting.


Check Also


Defense minister attends Passing out parade

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh reviewed the passing out parade of Indian Military Academy (IMA), Dehradun ...