City Patrol Units to be deployed in Kashipur

Kashipur in Udham Singh Nagar district will become the sixth city in the state to have a motorcycle-borne city patrol unit. The patrolling unit primarily enforces traffic regulations.

First introduced in 2014, CPU is operational in five cities – Dehradun, Haridwar, Roorkee, Haldwani and Rudrapur.

Kewal Khurana, deputy inspector general of police (traffic), said, “After Rudrapur, we have decided to introduce CPUs in Kashipur as well.” Initially, eight units comprising 38 police personnel, including one inspector, 16 sub-inspectors, five head constables and 16 constables, would be pressed into service in Kashipur, sources said.


Check Also


Kashipur JE arrested for taking bribe

Uttarakhand Power Corporation’s JE has been arrested by the Vigilance team for taking a bribe ...