Bowlers hold nerve as India win T20 series against South Africa

The Indian Men’s cricket team emulated their women counterparts by winning the final T20I in Capetown. India thus completed a memorable comeback after losing the test series 2-1; the men in blue won both editions of the limited over formats. Suresh Raina for his cameo at the top of the order was adjudged man of the match. While Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, who had been South Africa’s wrecker in Chief in the first game with his knuckle ball walked away with the man of the series.

No Captain Kohli in the final T20

India suffered a huge blow before the match when their skipper and in-form batsmen Virat Kohli was not in the playing 11 due to a back injury. Rohit Sharma filled in as the skipper for the final T20. JP Duminy won the third toss on the trott and had no hesitation in bowling first.

India got a flourishing start with Suresh Raina (43 off 27) clobbering South African bowlers but the hosts succeeded in straight-jacketing the batsmen by taking the pace off the ball as visitors settled for 172 for seven. The visitors choked South Africa with a remarkable disciplined bowling effort by the new ball bowlers in Powerplay overs as they restricted the hosts to 165 for six to not only end the tour on a high but also register maiden T20 series win on South African soil.


Check Also


India clinch T20 series against Sri Lanka

India defeated Sri Lanka by 78 runs in the third and final T20 International to ...