SBI changes IFSC codes of over 1300 branches

After its merger with its five associate banks, India’s largest public sector lender State Bank of India (SBI) has now changed the names and Indian Financial System Codes (IFSC) of its branches across major cities.

The cities are Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Lucknow and others.
How to find SBI branch IFSC code According to the SBI website, the user can access information on the new IFSC code via the SBI Branch Locator tool in four steps. These are:

  • Select from the dropdown menu
  • Enter the search text or select from the options
  • Click Search
  • Advanced search for better results

What is IFSC?

Indian Financial System Code, or IFSC, is an 11-digit alpha-numeric code used to uniquely identify all bank branches participating in any RBI regulated funds transfer system. The IFSC code is required to transfer money from one account to another using RTGS, NEFT or IMPS methods.


Check Also


Sensex surges 600 points; Nifty reclaims 12200

The BSE benchmark Sensex soared 635 points on Thursday as global investors heaved a sigh ...