Shivangi and Gautam declared as Ms & Mr Uurja-2k17


‘Uurja-2k17’, the annual Youth Festival of the University of Petroleum and Energy Studies (UPES) ended at its Bidholi Campus on Sunday.

The university claimed that about 7000 students  belonging to the universities like Graphic Era, DIT University, Jaypee Institute, Noida, Asian School of Media Studies and UPES participated in the event. The shows which attracted maximum participations during the eventy were ‘IPL Bidding’, ‘Footloose’, ‘War of Bands’, ‘Gully Cricket’, ‘Talent Hunt’, ‘Barati Dance’ and ‘MR and Ms. Uurja’.

The Director-Media,UPES Arun Dhand, informed that amongst the most prominent of the judges were Anuj Joshi – the Director & Writer of many popular television serials that included ‘Balbul Ki Duwaye Leti Ja’ & ‘Bhabhi Maa’; Abhishek Mandola – a renowned Director & Producer of Garwali movies and Dr Ajit Singh of the renowned music store Pratap Music House, Dehradun who is also nationally acclaimed for re-inventing the stringed instrument ‘Vichitra Veena’.

‘Gautam Rajpal, a B.Tech student of  Computer Sciences stream was crowned as Mr Uurja ‘17  while Shivangi Chaturvedi from B.Tech (Mining) was declared as Ms Uurja ‘17. The winners received a cash prize of Rs 5100 each apart from free Gift Vouchers from the ‘VLCC Health Care Ltd.’ The judges for ‘Mr & Ms Uurja’ were Atit Sheikh,  Pallavi Joshi,  Manisha Mehra &  Pushkal Soni. The Winners trophy of ‘Abhinay’ went to the group Paradigm while the group Exheliration came Second; incidentally, both the entries were from UPES. The Winners receive a Cash Prize of Rs. 21000  while the first Runners-Up got Rs. 11000 and second Runners-Up Rs. 5000. Naveen & Hitesh from Paradigm also won the ‘Best Director Award’ while ‘Best Actress Award’ went to Simran.

The culminating day of Uurja-17 also saw stage performance by Geet Sagar (of a popular TV Talent Hunt’ programme). He enthralled the students with his performance.

Vote of Thanks’ Manish Madaan, Assistant Director – Student Affairs, UPES mentioned the names of special contributors which included AP Mishra, Dr Monika Manglik, Ashutosh Dora, Pooja Gautam and Dr BK Chaturvedi who were ably supported by the student volunteer team comprising of Pallavi Singh, Atendev Vikram Singh, Rakshit Pancholi, Vinay & Divya Mehra.


Check Also


Defense minister attends Passing out parade

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh reviewed the passing out parade of Indian Military Academy (IMA), Dehradun ...