10 Central trade unions on a 3 day strike against delay in 7th pay commission

As many as 10 central trade unions have gone on a 3-day Dharna in front of the Parliament on Thursday morning to protest against the delay in minimum pay hike under the 7th Pay Commission as demanded by the unions. These Central employees have been demanding a hike in minimum pay to Rs 26,000 from Rs 18,000. The government had approved a hike in salary in June 2016 while the 7th Pay Commission recommendations on a hike in allowances were approved by it in July 2017.

The unions that are taking part in this protest include: All India United Trade Union Centre (AICCTU), Trade Union Coordination Centre (TUCC), Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC); All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC), Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS), Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU), Self Employed Women’s Association (SEWA), All India Central Council of Trade Unions (AICCTU), United Trade Union Congress (UTUC), Labour Progressive Federation (LPF), according to Times Now.

The unions are demanding a minimum pay hike to Rs26,000 from the Seventh Pay Commission recommended Rs18,000.

The commission on the other hand had recommended raising the minimum pay hike to Rs18,000 from Rs7,000, along with the maximum pay being raised from the existing Rs80,000 to Rs2.5 lakh as well as a fitment factor of pay fixation uniformly approved at 2.57 times of basic pay. These recommendations were approved by the Union cabinet. The government had also approved a hike in allowances earlier this July.


Check Also


CAA comes into effect from Jan 10

The Centre on Friday announced that the Citizenship (Amendment) Act will come into force from ...