“World’s Oldest Functional Steam Engine” between Delhi Cantonment & Rewari to commence its journey from 14th October

Indian Railways will be commencing running of team hauled tourist train between Delhi Cantonment and Rewari on second and fourth Saturday of month beginning from October, 2017. The operation will continue till April, 2018.

The train will start from Delhi Cantonment at 10:30 AM will reach Rewari at 1:00 PM. The visitors will be given the opportunity to visit Rewari Steam Centre, which is the only working steam locomotive shed over Indian Railways homing 10 steam locomotives. After a break of about three hours, the train will start from Rewari at 4:15 PM and reach Delhi Cantonment at 06:15 PM. The train has a capacity 60 passenger and the tickets can be booked at IRCTC website as well as at various tourist facilitation centres of IRCTC, National Rail Museum (NRM) and through travel operators.

The inaugural run in this season of the steam express scheduled on 14.10.2017, will be hauled by Fairy Queen (EIR-22, Year built 1855), World’s oldest steam locomotive and Guinness Book of Record holder. This iconic locomotive is maintained by Rewari Steam Centre of Delhi Division, Northern Railway.

Over the years, Indian Railways have initiated several innovative measures to promote steam tourism in the country which includes operation of steam charters in hill railways, regular steam operation in world heritage railways, restoration of steam locomotives etc.

Commencement of steam operation shall also mark celebration of “Paryatan Parv”(5 – 25 October, 2017), a nationwide event to showcase tourism potential of the country.

Steam train will run between Delhi Cantt. and Rewari and back on 2nd Saturday of every month during the tourist season 2017-18 from October, 2017 to April, 2018 i.e. on 14.10.2017, 11.11.2017, 09.12.2017, 13.01.2018, 10.02.2018, 10.03.2018 and 14.04.2018. Some additional trips, if desired & required, can also be planned.


Check Also

Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi Sworn in as Prime Minister for Third Term in Grand Ceremony

Narendra Modi, the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has been sworn in as ...