24th cricket tournament for blind to conclude in Mumbai


Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) affiliated to Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) and World Blind Cricket (WBC) today announced the Mumbai leg of the 24th National Cricket Tournament which will be organised by Cricket Association for the Blind of Maharashtra (CABM).

The zonal tournaments that started early this month will end next week in Mumbai, as two groups will have 4 teams each. Two teams from each group will be chosen on point basis and then they will enter Quarterfinals/ Semi Finals and to the Finals.

The winners from this tournament will take away the Trophy along with cash award of Rs.50000/- and runners will take away the Trophy along with cash award of Rs.30000/-. In addition, there will be special mementos that will be given to Man of the Match/ Man of The Series/Best Scoring/Best Bowler/Best Fielder.

This 24th National Tournament is a platform in selecting the Indian Team for the forth-coming 5th ODI World Cup at Dubai and Pakistan, which is from 7th to 21st of Jan’2018. This is organised by Pakistan Blind Cricket Council in association with World Blind Cricket Ltd (WBC).

Highlights of the zonal matches:

South Zone – The tournament for South Zone was played in Calicut on 12th to 15th Oct’2017 wherein 6 teams participated. The teams are Telangana, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. The teams from Andhra Pradesh led by Mr. Ajay Kumar Reddy and from Karnataka led by Mr.Prakash Jayaramaiah qualified from South Zone to play in National Tournament.

 West Zone – The tournament for West Zone was played in Ahmadabad on 16th and 17th Oct’2017 wherein 5 teams participated. The teams are Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat and Maharashtra. The teams from Gujarat led by Mr. Ganesh Muhundkar and from Maharashtra led by Mr.Dilip Munde qualified from West Zone to play in National Tournament.

East Zone – The tournament for East Zone was played in Calcutta on 20th to 22nd Oct’2017 wherein 4 teams participated. The teams are Tripura, Jharkhand, West Bengal and Odessa. The teams from West Bengal led by Mr. Tanumoy Bhowmik and from Odessa led by Mr.Jafar Iqbal qualified from East  Zone to play in National Tournament.

North Zone – The tournament for North Zone was played in Dehradun from 23rd to 25th Oct’2017 wherein 7 teams participated. The teams are UP, Delhi, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh, Uttarakhand and Haryana. The Team from Himachal Pradesh missed this tournament due to heavy rains. The Team from Haryana led by Mr. Deeepak Malik and Team from UP led by  Mr.Sanjeev  qualified from North Zone.

Last Year 23rd National Tournament was held at Balsa and Cali in Gujarat. This was organised by CABI. Andhra Pradesh won the national championship and Gujarat won the runners up Trophy. This tournament helped CABI to pick up 17 good players who played for the T-20 cup in February’2017.

The category in which players belong are of B1 (completely blind), B2 (can see up to 3 metres) and B3 (can see up to 6 metres)



Check Also


India clinch T20 series against Sri Lanka

India defeated Sri Lanka by 78 runs in the third and final T20 International to ...