EAC constituted to save economy by PM


Taking cognizance on the economic slump Prime Minister Narendra Modi has constituted a five-member Economic Advisory Council (EAC) led by NITI ayog member Bibek debroy on Monday. It will analyse economic and other issues.

The EAC will be led by NITI Aayog member Bibek Debroy while other members are NITI Aayog’s Principal Advisor Ratan Watal as its member and economists Surjit Bhalla, Rathin Roy and Ashima Goyal as part-time members. The five-member council consists of economists of high repute and eminence.

The EAC has been assigned task to analyse any issue, economic or otherwise, referred to it by the prime minister and advising him accordingly.
It will also address issues of macroeconomic importance and present its views to the prime minister. This could be either suo-motu or on reference from the prime minister or anyone else. It’s terms of reference also includes attending to “any other task as may be desired by the prime minister from time to time.


Check Also


CAA comes into effect from Jan 10

The Centre on Friday announced that the Citizenship (Amendment) Act will come into force from ...