DUSU elections 2017: NSUI bags president and vice president posts

In a jolt for Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), National Students Union of India (NSUI) has made a stunning comeback by winning three posts, including the crucial Presidential one. NSUI has won the President post after four years. ABVP managed to bag the Secreatary post. The counting of vote took place today in the Delhi University. Last year, while RSS-backed ABVP had won the post of president, vice president and secretary, Congress’ students’ union NSUI was elected to the post of joint secretary.

The main contestants for the DUSU President were the ABVP’s Rajat Choudhary, AISA’s Parul Chauha, independent candidates Raja Choudury and Alka, besides Rocky Tusheed of the NSUI, who has emerged as the winner of the crucial post.

After registering a overwhelming win, NSUI in a statement said, “This mandate shows that students throughout the country have rejected poisonous & divisive ideology of RSS.”

Last year, the RSS-backed ABVP bagged three posts, while the Congress’s NSUI made a comeback, winning the post of the Joint Secretary.

The outgoing DUSU President is ABVP’s Amit Tanwar, with the post under the RSS student wing’s hold since 2014 when Mohit Nagar was elected. He was succeeded by Satender Awana, whose tenure was marked by controversy after he was accused of publicly threatening and beating up faculty members.


Check Also

Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi Sworn in as Prime Minister for Third Term in Grand Ceremony

Narendra Modi, the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has been sworn in as ...