ABVP won DAV for 11th consecutive year


The Akhil Bhartiya Vidhyarthi Parishad (ABVP) candidate shubham simalty has won by defeating NSUI candidate Vikas Negi in the DAV PG College students union election. ABVP won the seat by mere 35 votes. In the post of general Secretary Akash Gaur of Aryan defeated Arvind Chauhan of Satyam Shivam group by a huge margin of 344 votes.

The counting of votes started about 20 minute late and result declared after five hours. Shubham Simalti of ABVP secured 1346 votes while Vikas Negi got 1311 votes. Aryan group made a comeback in the general secretary post as its candidate Akash Gaur captured it from Satyam Shivam Group. Gaur cornered 1263 votes. For the post of Vice President, Himanshu Negi of Diwakar group trounced nearest rival Shivani. He cornered an impressive 1745 votes against 507 got by Shivani.  On the post of assistant Secretary, Aayushi Semwal emerged victorious while Ajay Kumar of Aryan group was elected as Treasurer. He secured 1080 votes.  In the post of the girls representative Priyanka of Aryan group was elected. In the post of student representative, Science Satish Nautiyal was unanimously elected while Vipin Pant and Abishek were elected as commerce and vocational course representatives. In the post of University Representative (UR) Navin Negi of Vikas Group defeated Monika by a margin of 153 votes. He cornered 1007 votes against 854 got by Monika.

There were many ups and downs during the counting. In the prestigious post of President NSUI candidate took an early lead. The NSUI candidate kept his lead in second round of counting as well. The NSUI candidate got more support from the girls but when counting of the ballot boxes containing the votes of boys started the scenario changed and the ABVP surged ahead.  One notable feature of the result was that large number of student’s opted for NOTA. In the post of girl representative as many as 658 students opted for NOTA while 615 students opted for NOTA for post of treasurer. For the post of President 37 students pressed NOTA.

The Chief Election Officer D K Tyagi said that counting was held on fifteen tables in three sections. In section I, the ballots of President and Vice President were counted while in Section II, the counting of Secretary and Joint secretary took place. In the III section the ballots of Treasurer, University Representative (UR) and Girls Representative (GR) were counted. Each section had five tables each. The counting was held in four rounds and it was in the under the surveillance of CCTV cameras.  The badminton hall of the college was converted into counting cell on the day.

The supporters of winning candidates started impromptu celebrations as the results were declared. They were seen hugging and smearing gulal on each other faces. The winning candidates were administered oath immediately after the declaration of results.



Check Also

Radha Raturi

CS Radha Raturi asks officials to make Foolproof Online Registration System for Chardham Yatra

In a bid to enhance the management of the Chardham Yatra Uttarakhand Chief Secretary Radha ...