BJP won 56 out of 69 in UK


Election Commission has declared the results of 69 out of 70 seats on Saturday evening, excluding Lohaghat, where the EVM malfunctioned, resulting in the withholding of the counting.   As per the official declaration, BJP has won 56 seats while the Congress,  11 and two seats has  gone to the  independents.

In four districts – Dehradun, Haridwar, Udham Singh Nagar and Nainital, BJP has nearly swept, winning 29 out of 36 seats  while the Congress managed to  win six seats and one  independent  Ram Singh Kaira was elected from Bhimtal constituency in Nainital district. The district- wise tally of the BJP is  nine in Dehradun, eight each in Haridwar and Udham Singh Nagar and four in Nainital.  The Congress, on the other hand, has won three seats in Haridwar and one each in Dehradun, Udham Singh Nagar and Nainital district.

BJP has made a clean sweep in five districts- Pauri, Chamoli, Bageswar, Tehri and Champawat with the Congress drawing a blank so far. These five seats account for 20 seats. However, the counting was kept on hold for Lohaghat seat in Champawat district.  In Tehri district, however, which has six seats, the Congress-backed independent candidate Preetam Singh Panwar, a member of the outgoing cabinet, has won      from Dhanaulti seat.

In Rudraprayag and Uttarkashi districts,  BJP has won three out of five seats  while  the Congress has been contended with  two seats- one each from Kedarnath in Rudraprayag district and Purola in Uttarkashi district.

In Pithoragarh, BJP has won three out of four seats. While Prakash Pant has won from Pithoragarh Bishan Singh Chufal has won from Didihaat and Meena Gangola from Gangolihaat seat.  The fourth seat – Dharchula- has gone to the Congress candidate Harish Dhami who had vacated the seat after he won in 2012 election to make way for the chief minister Harish Rawat to step in the Assembly.

In Almora district, the BJP has won three out of   the five seats.  While Surendra Singh Jeena has won from Salt Rekha Arya has won from Someshwar and Raghunath Singh Chouhan from Almora.   The Congress has won two – the Speaker of the outgoing Assembly Govind Singh Kunjwal from Jageshwar and Karan Mahra from Ranikhet.


Check Also


CAA comes into effect from Jan 10

The Centre on Friday announced that the Citizenship (Amendment) Act will come into force from ...