Dissident excluding Harak tickets cleared by BJP

Dainik Nation Bureau


Ten dissident Congress leaders, now in the Bharatiya Janata Party, at the upcoming hustings, BJP’s election committee is said to have decided that the names of eight of the ten such leaders, excluding the former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna and the former cabinet minister Harak Singh Rawat, would figure in the first list that is likely to be released on the occasion of Makar Sankranti or a day after. It is also learnt that the party has decided to field Bahuguna’s youngest son Saurabh Bahuguna from the Sitarganj seat as per understanding reached between Bahuguna and the BJP’s national leadership when the nine rebels switched to BJP. The fate of Harak Singh Rawat  still hangs in fire with the former cabinet minister  staking claim  to Lansdowne Assembly constituency which has a sitting BJP MLA. At the same time, the party top brass is likely to reject the claims of Rawat to make one of his followers Lakshmi Rana a candidate too. Similarly, the plea of Satpal Maharaj  for tickets both for himself and his wife  Amrita Rawat is most unlikely to  find receptive ears. It is learnt that the party would insist on only one of them take the plunge.   As per sources, he is  trying to secure ticket from Chaubattakhal constituency which is currently being represented by the former BJP state president Teerath Singh Rawat.

Sources said that party has taken decision regarding 50 out of 70 seats.   They further informed that the national leadership has made the following list- Saurabh Bahuguna (Sitarganj), Harak Singh Rawat (Rudraprayag), Subodh Uniyal (Narendranagar) , Shailendra Mohan Singhal (Jaspur), Pranav Singh Champion (Khanpur), Amrita Rawat (Ramnagar), Umesh Sharma Kau (Raipur), Pradeep Batra (Roorkee), Rekha Arya (Someshwar) and Shailarani Rawat (Kedarnath).



Check Also

sonia gandhi

Sonia Gandhi Denounces PM Modi’s Leadership, Claims Political and Moral Defeat in Gen Elections 2024

In a fiery address to the newly elected Congress MPs, former Congress president Sonia Gandhi ...