CM filed nomination from Kichha



Chief minister Harish Rawat filed his nomination from the Kichha Vidhan Sabha constituency as the Congress candidate while sitting MLA Rajesh Shukla also filed his nomination from the same constituency on Wednesday accompanied by a large number of supporters. On the occasion, Rawat averred that the Congress party had always worked towards taking Uttarakhand ahead with special focus on the economically poor sections. The chief minister further went on to opine that he was contesting election from all the constituencies of the state whereas in Kichha constituency it is the populace of the area which is in the contest. Considering themselves to be the candidate, the people should vote in favour of the Congress so as to facilitate continuance of development in the area, the CM said, while addressing a large public gathering before going to file his nomination.  The CM rallied with a large number of people to the Kichha Tehsil compound where he submitted his nomination.

Earlier, the CM arrived at a venue along the Kichha-Bareily road where he addressed a large public gathering. Speaking on the occasion, Rawat averred that there had been all-round development during his term as the chief minister. He went on to list the various works and schemes facilitated by the state government for the welfare of various sections of society, especially the economically poor. He referred to the works done through various government departments in the interests of the public and the state. He said that the people will have to decide for themselves whether they want to elect the Congress back to office to facilitate development. A number of local office bearers of the Bharatiya Janata Party along with their supporters also joined the Congress party in Rawat’s presence on the occasion.

Meanwhile, the sitting MLA and BJP candidate Rajesh Shukla also rallied along with his supporters to file nomination from Kichha constituency. Shukla was accompanied by a large number of people who took out a procession to the nomination centre.

In the provincial state capital, the Dehradun Mayor Vinod Chamoli also filed his nomination from the Dharmpur Assembly constituency. In the same Dehradun district, the PCC chief Kishore Upadhyay filed his nomination from the Sahaspur constituency in the presence of chief minister Harish Rawat and his supporters. In the Narendranagar constituency of Tehri district, BJP candidate Subodh Uniyal was among those who filed nomination.


Check Also


CAA comes into effect from Jan 10

The Centre on Friday announced that the Citizenship (Amendment) Act will come into force from ...