21 candidate file nomination on Saturday



Twety one candidate have filed their nomination on the second day of the nomination across the state on Saturday. Mantri Prasad Naithani filed nomination as the Congress candidate from Devprayag while BJP state president Ajay Bhatt from Ranikhet.

In Haridwar district, one independent candidate Pankaj Kumar filed nomination from Ranipur Assembly constituency. In Dehradun district, three candidates –Nirmala Bisht, Yashveer Arya and Usha Rani- have filed nomination as Independents from Raipur, Mussoorie and Doiwala constituency respectively. Murari Lal Khandwal filed nomination as an Independent candidate from Pratap Nagar in Tehri district.

In Uttarkashi district, two BJP candidates- Gopal Singh Rawat and Kedar Singh Rawat- have filed their nominations from Gangotri and Yamnotri constituencies respectively. In Rudraprayag district, Kuldeep Singh Rawat filed nomination as an Independent candidate from Kedarnath. In Udham Singh Nagar, two candidates-Navtej Pal Singh and Sunita Rana- filed nomination from Sitarganj and Nanakmatta constituency in Udam Singh Nagar district respectively. Singh is contesting as a BSP candidate while Rana as an Independent candidate. In Nainital district, four candidates -Purushottam Sharma of CPI (ML), Tara Dutt Pandey of BSP and two independent candidates- Sumanlata and Mahesh Sharma have filed their nomination. Purushottam Sharma filed nomination from Lalkuan while Pandey from Beemtal and Sumanlata and Mahesh Sharma each from Kaladungi constituencies. In Pithoragarh district, three candidates -Mayukh Singh Mahar of Congress, Kashi Singh Aeri of UKD and Krishnanand Kapri as an independent candidate. Mahar and Kapri filed nomination from Pithoragarh while Aeri from Didihat.


Three candidates -Ajay Bhatt of BJP, Mahesh Lal and Kuber Singh Kathait as independent candidates filed nomination. Bhatt filed nomination from Ranikhet while Lal and Kathait from Dwarhat.


No candidate has filed nomination from Chamoli, Pauri, Bageshear and Champawat.


Dehradun district election officer Ravinath Raman said that a total of 50 nomination papers were sold at 10 different constituencies of the district on Saturday. One nomination paper was sold from Chakrata, five from Vikasnagar, eight from Sabahspur, six from Dharampur, five from Raipur, five from Rajpur Road, seven from Dehradun Cantt, one from Rishikesh. A total of 188 nomination papers have been sold at 10 different constituencies of the district so far, he added.

In Haridwar district, election officer Harbans Singh Chugh said that 69 nomination papers were sold which include 10 from Haridwar constituency, 10 from BHEL Ranipur, nine from Jwalapur, seven from Bhagwanpur, two from Jhabreda, four from Peeran Kaliyar, six from Roorkee, 10 from Khanpur, two from Mangalore, four from Laksar and five from Haridwar rural. So far, two nominations have been filed from Haridwar district.

The Pioneer, Dehradun

0135 2740891


Check Also

PM Modi on Independence Day 2023

PM Modi rally at Rishikesh today, target to woo 41 assembly seats of Garhwal division

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is going to address rally at Rishikesh, which is known as ...